Primary Election night results 2022

Jon Johnson File Photo/Gila Herald: Safford Vice Mayor Richard Ortega holds the door for volunteers bringing election ballots to the Graham County Election Department at the General Services Building to be tallied during the 2020 election.

By Jon Johnson

GRAHAM COUNTY – The following are preliminary election results for the contested races in the Primary Election. As of our Wed., Aug. 3 update, there are only 10 early ballots and two provisional ballots left to count.

Preliminary election turnout (which will change slightly as provisional and other ballots are counted) as listed by the Graham County Elections Department lists a voter turnout of 6,859 out of 19,253 registered voters, for a 35.6% voter turnout overall. Graham County was the first of Arizona’s 15 counties to have all of its precincts reported.

Graham County Elections Director Hannah Duderstadt said there were the “normal hiccups” but that the staff prevailed and all 22 precincts were accounted for. The only votes left to count are early ballots that were turned in late and provisional ballots. While Duderstadt said she wouldn’t have a number of those outstanding ballots left to be counted until Wednesday morning, it is not likely to affect any of the listed results.  

Local Races

Justice of the Peace

The newly consolidated Justice of the Peace Court for Precinct 1 and Precinct 2 will be run by current Justice of the Peace District 2 Judge Wyatt Palmer (2,538 votes), who defeated newcomer Lance Lines (2,108 votes).

Contributed Photo: Luke Arbizo was the top vote-getter for the Safford City Council.

Safford City Council

In Safford, newcomer Luke Arbizo burst through with the most votes with 1,272. Joining Luke on the council will be incumbents Steve McGaughey (1,042 votes), and Arnold Lopez (966 votes). Incumbent Gene Seale (898 votes) came up short.  

Thatcher Town Council

In Thatcher, it was a crowded race of six candidates for three open seats. Incumbents Ginaveve “Jenny” Howard (620 votes), and newcomer Mike McEuen, (597 votes) led the way with the third member appearing to be Heston Welker (566 votes) with incumbent Ryan Rapier (499 votes) on the outside.

Pima Town Council

In yet another contested municipal council race, the town of Pima had four candidates for just two open seats. Newcomer Teresa Bailey (297 votes) and recently appointed council member Brian Paull led the way (294 votes) onto the council, with Mayor Dale Rogers (237 votes) losing his council seat. A fourth candidate, Jed Bigler, had 123 votes.  

Greenlee County

There were 1,189 ballots cast in Greenlee County out of 5,108 registered voters for a voter turnout of 23.3%. 

Clifton Town Council

With all precincts reporting Laura Dorrell was re-elected with 240 votes, along with Janeene Carrillo-Duncan (188 votes), and Ray Lorenzo (187 votes). 

Clifton Home Rule

Proposition 400 passes with a vote of 231 for to 79 against. 

Duncan Mayor 

With all precincts reporting Titus Blake had 62 votes and Anne Thurman had 60 votes to make it too close to call without knowing how many possible provisional or late early ballots there are. There were also three write-in votes.

Featured Statewide Races

U.S. Senator

Republican – In the Republican primary for Senator to see who will face incumbent Mark Kelly (D) in the General Election, Trump-supported Blake Masters has defeated Jim Lamon, current Attorney General Mark Brnovich, and the rest of the field. Masters won every county except for Gila County, which went for Lamon.

Democrat – Incumbent Mark Kelly is unopposed. 

U.S. Representative District 6

Republican – The Gila Herald has called it for Juan Ciscomani with roughly 48 percent of the vote currently with about 50 percent left to count.  

Democrat –  The Gila Herald has called it for Kirsten Engel with roughly 60 percent of the vote currently with just 35 percent left to be counted.


Contributed Photo: Current Secretary of State Katie Hobbs cruised to the Democrat Party’s nomination for governor.

Republican – In the Republican primary, Trump-backed Kari Lake is currently leading Karrin Taylor Robson for her party’s nomination in the General Election. With 97% of precincts reporting, Lake has a slight edge with 294,606 votes to Robson’s 283,160, as of 5 p.m. on Wednesday.

In the hotly contested race, Lake is just edging Robson in every county except for Maricopa, where the roles are reversed.

Democrat – For the Democrats, the overwhelming choice was current Secretary of State Katie Hobbs with the overwhelming majority of the vote. 

Secretary of State

Republican – Mark Finchem has won the nomination for the Republicans in a crowded race.

Democrat – Adrian Fontes is currently leading to be the Democrat’s nomination in the General Election. 

Attorney General 

Republican – Abraham Hamadeh won the Republican nomination out of a crowded race.   

Democrat – Kris Mayes ran unopposed. 

This article will be updated as necessary.