Graham County Community College District Governing Board swears in members, re-elects leaders

EAC Photo: Lois Ann Moody takes her oath of office.

By Kris McBride

THATCHER — The Graham County Community College District Governing Board (Governing Board) welcomed Jeff B. Larson and Lois Ann Moody as newly re-elected members at its meeting last week. The Governing Board then unanimously re-elected Larson to serve as chair and Dr. Brad Montierth as secretary.

“These individuals have shown exceptional commitment to Eastern Arizona College and are well prepared to address the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead,” stated Todd Haynie, EAC president. “I look forward to working with them and the other board members to provide exceptional academic programs that help students achieve their goals and prepare them for outstanding careers.”

EAC Photo: Jeff B. Larson takes his oath of office. Larson was re-elected as Board Chairman.

Larson is a lifelong resident of the Gila Valley and has been a member of the Governing Board since 2018. He has served on state-level boards for the Arizona Farm Bureau and the Arizona Cotton Growers Association. He currently serves as president for the Graham County Utilities Board and is a director for the Grand Canyon State Electrical Cooperative Association. Larson is a member of the Gila Hanks Booster Club and has served as an officer with that association.

Moody is also a life-long resident of the Gila Valley (having spent some time in New Mexico) and has served on the Governing Board since 1997. She is a graduate of Safford High School and Eastern Arizona College. She is a member of EAC’s Alumni Association Board. Moody was a member and past president of the Graham County Chamber of Commerce, member and past chair of the Graham County Private Industry Council, a past member of the Safford Rotary Club, and member of the Business and Professional Women’s Club. Moody will also represent the Governing Board as a member of the Arizona Association of Community College Trustees.

Montierth was born in Safford and has served on the Governing Board since 2015. After graduating from Safford High School and Eastern Arizona College, he graduated from the University of Arizona with a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry. Montierth then received his doctor of medicine from the University of Arizona’s College of Medicine. He completed his residency in family practice at St. Peter’s Hospital in Olympia, Wash., and is now a partner at Mount Graham Family Practice.

Other Governing Board members include Richard W. Mattice who has served since 1974 and Tina C. McMaster, a member since 2013.

About the Graham County Community College District Governing Board

Meetings are normally held on the second Thursday of the month, at noon, in the Board Room (Room 244) of the Student Services Building, 615 N. Stadium Avenue, on the Thatcher Campus.

Notices of Public Meetings are posted on the main doors of the Student Services Building, and on the main doors of the EAC Alumni Library.

The governing board members are elected by the people in the district in which they reside. Their term of service is six years.

In the event an appointment is necessary, the Graham County School Superintendent asks for interested parties to submit an application or letter of interest, and then an appointment is made.

The District does not normally hold special elections. However, if the need arises, the District shall post notice of any special election at least ninety days in advance of the election date.

The Governing Board bring a combined 88 years of service to the district.

Please follow and like us: