Graham County BOS unanimously approves tax rates for 2021/22

Jon Johnson File Photo/Gila Herald: The Graham County Board of Supervisors – shown here at a previous board meeting – unanimously approved the tax rates for 2021/22 at its Monday morning meeting.

Staff Reports

SAFFORD – The Graham County Board of Supervisors unanimously approved setting the tax rates for all entities in Graham County for Fiscal Year 2021/22 during its Monday morning meeting. 

Graham County Manager Dustin Welker advised that the board is statutorily required to approve the tax rates that have been adopted and sent in by the other entities and that the county only controls its own property tax rate.

Welker then read off the various entities’ tax rates, listing whether it was on primary or secondary. Secondary taxes are voter-approved. 

The tax list includes: Graham County – 2.6043, primary; Rural Fire District Assistance – 0.0521, secondary; County Education Equalization – 0.4263, primary; County Flood Control District – 0.1171, secondary; Eastern Arizona College – 3.0954, primary; City of Safford – 0.5135, primary; Town of Thatcher – 0; Town of Pima – 0.1277, primary; Safford Rural Fire District – 1.4, primary; Pima Rural Fire District – 1.25, secondary; Fort Thomas Rural Fire District – 1.3314, secondary; Central Jackson Heights Rural Fire District – 0.045, secondary; SUSD – 3.6126, primary, 0.5171 – secondary; TUSD – 3.7381, primary; PUSD – 4.5040, primary; FTUSD – 0; Klondyke School District – 0.7091, primary; Minimum School Tax – Klondyke – 1.7694, primary; Bonita – 6.4410, primary; GIFT – 0.0500, secondary. 

In other BOS action, the board unanimously approved designating the Graham County Chamber of Commerce as its official “Destination Marketing Organization.”