3A South All-Region Football awards announced

Photo Courtesy Stan Bonifacio Sports Photography: Thatcher QB Brandon Napier takes a shot against ALA Gilbert North. Napier was one of 10 Thatcher Eagles named to the 3A South All-Region 1st Team. Napier made the team as a defensive back.

Staff Reports

PHOENIX – The Arizona Interscholastic Association (AIA) has announced recognition for the 3A South All-Region awards. 

Local players who made the team include: 

All-Region 1st Team

From Thatcher: Brandon Napier (Defensive Back), Jacob Rasmussen (Defensive Lineman), Cody Jones (Defensive Lineman), Ayden Bingham (Linebacker), Jacob Mattice (Offensive Lineman), Declan Carlton (Offensive Lineman), Slade Shupe (Punt Returner and Receiver positions), Tanner Rios (Punter), and Wyatt Larson (Quarterback). From Safford: Fernando Gonzales (Offensive Flex), and Christian Smith (Running Back). 

All-Region 2nd Team

From Thatcher: Slade Shupe (Defensive Back), Scott Ambler (Offensive Lineman), Brandon Napier (Offensive Flex), Hunter Lee (Placekicker), Ayden Bingham (Running Back), Joshua Mangum (Running Back). From Safford: Fernando Gonzales (Defensive Lineman), Damian Rios (Kickoff Returner), Kaleb Cordova (Linebacker), Christian Smith (Linebacker), Garrett Pritchard (Offensive Lineman), Brenden Gunnett (Offensive Lineman), and Jojo Ruelas (Quarterback).

Honorable Mention

From Thatcher: Derek Cameron, Jackson Conrad, Koye Farris, Jesse Green, Peter Green, Damien Oriero, Nicholas Puzas, and Tyler Swapp. From Safford: Isaiah Alvarado, Devon Donaldson, Tanner Emery, Chris Shatto, and Matthew Tavizon.